Day of Love

dsc04740_fotordsc04221_fotordsc04235_fotordsc04731_fotorimg_0562_fotorimg_0730_fotorimg_0732_fotorimg_0718dsc05910_fotordsc05921_fotor

 Valentine’s Day can be a bit of a touchy subject for some people. It’s a holiday hated by some, loved by others. Some just consider it another day. I love Valentine’s Day and I love love. For me, it’s more than candy/flowers/cards/etc. I like to use it as a time to show my loved ones I care and to give myself some (usually very needed) self-love.

This year I spent a weekend with my best friend playing with heart-shaped balloons & beautiful roses and taking photos. We usually have so much going on in our own lives it’s not always easy to find time to chill but happy Galentine’s Day to us!

My boyfriend, despite a crazy busy schedule, showed up after work on Valentine’s Day with the most gorgeous bouquet of lavender roses. And we enjoyed a relaxing pizza-at-home evening. It was honestly so wonderful just be with each other.

For myself, I’ve really been focusing on my health, both physically and mentally. I’m really making an effort to keep a daily yoga and/or meditation practice. Yoga (especially when combined with meditation) helps me find calmness in a chaotic life and to keep my cool when shit happens. Which it does. I’ve found over the past couple of years that both really contribute to my overall happiness.

Although Valentine’s Day is a great reminder to show your loved ones how you feel…it’s definitely not something to limit to just one day out of 365. What do you think about Valentine’s Day: just another day or your favorite holiday?

Leave a Reply

